Four Students Named Semifinalists, Nine Commended in National Merit Scholarship Competition

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalists level of the competition. Over 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.
Additionally, nine students were named Commended Students in the National Merit Scholarship Program. Commended Students are recognized for the exceptional academic promise demonstrated by their outstanding performance on the qualifying test used for program entry. They will not, however, continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships to be offered next spring. The Commended Students include Mary Brinkman, Kaitlyn Donton, Madeline Kosobucki, Meghan Novak, Sabrina Panlaqui, Olivia Pullin, Luke Schaefer, Alexander Thiel and Sofia Zitella.